About Us > Awards

ATMA Young Achiever Award 2020


A personalised overseas study tour into a relevant aspect of the Milling Industry

The aim of the Award is to provide a young person, who has demonstrated their ability, to further their contribution to the milling industry. Included is an opportunity to gain international exposure and access to technical knowledge of specific or general interest. The award is open to ATMA members or nabim students (studying under ATMA), under the age of 35 who is or has been engaged in a technical capacity in a cereal milling, stockfeed milling or an associated industry within Australia. 


A two week personalised overseas study tour into a relevant aspect of the milling industry including a milling training course at Buhler Switzerland. Plus attendance to the 2020 Australasian Milling Conference from 17-19 May 2020.

OPEN TO: A person under 35 years of age as at 30/06/20 actively employed in a manufacturing milling industry in Australia, including flour, rice, oats, maize and stockfeed. "Technical Millers” are considered as those people who have technical milling experience, who have previously been in charge of operating, or are currently operating, milling plant and equipment.  If you are unsure if your role qualifies, please contact the Executive Officer by emailing atma@atma.asn.au before completing your application.

ENTRIES: Open 1st January 2020 - Close by 16th March 2020.  Winners have 2 years to take the award prize.

PRESENTATION:  The presentation to the 2020 winner will be at the Biennial Conference, PIX/AMC2020 being held at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre from 17-19 May 2020. 

The Award is open to both members and students of ATMA and provides an exceptional opportunity for a young person to gain international exposure and access to technical knowledge providing an outstanding career foundation.

Previous Award Winners

2018 Jamie Andersen
2016 Ryan Dam
2014 Peter Cobb
2012 Christopher Chandler
2010 Jeremy Burgin
2008 Scott Beutel
2006 Paul Martin
2004 Ian Mackay
2002 David Ambrose
2000 Alex Krzanic
1998 Sheldon Harland
1996 Peter Newton
1994 John Gorringe
1992 Peter Hartley

ATMA Young Achiever Award 2020 Application Form

ATMA Young Achiever Award 2020 Submission Requirements

Winner of the 2018 ATMA Young Achiever Award - Jamie Andersen of Inghams.

 Presented by Torsten Rohrbeck of Buhler Australia